SOLVED

Calendars

Brass Contributor

I have a schedule that I have been working on for about 9 months now which is built on the standard 5 day work week. Now, I want to possibly change the current schedule to a 7 day work week. How hard would it be to do this as I have about 600 line items with tasks that are in progress, completed and some that haven't started yet. Would it be easier to keep it as a 5 day schedule and just adjust the duration? We just use resources for durations and not for cost. Any help is appreciated.

Thank You

11 Replies

@sirsleep29 ,
This may be easier than you think. Since you can't change history, tasks that are already completed will not change with the new calendar. Tasks that are in progress will partially change based on the new calendar (i.e. completed portion will not change but the overall task duration will change in response to the new calendar). Tasks that have not yet started will change to the new calendar.

For example, here is a simple plan with the Standard calendar:

2023-12-28_14-28-42.png

Changing the Project Calendar to a 7 day workweek results in this:

2023-12-28_14-30-02.png

Obviously, this is a simple example, a more complex plan may present some modified results.

John

Hi John, thank you for the reply. I was playing around with this yesterday and I was looking at a task that started in August 2024, so any calendar changes should have changed this task. I changed it to a 7 day work calendar and it didn't appear to change anything. How do you make the changes or what are the steps you use when changing a calenadar over?

@sirsleep29 

In the simple example I showed, I simply changed the Project Calendar from Standard to "7 day workweek" (Project > Properties group > Project Information > Calendar). This of course assumes a new custom calendar for the 7 day workweek was created.