Looking for help

Copper Contributor

HI,

I’m a resident of a 600 “home owner association” (HOA). WE want to communicate with the owners. WE have a book with our residents listed. We would like to get the names and Email addresses from the book into a mailing program. Can you help us with an Excel programing? Please check the links attached for a sample of the type of pages that need conversion.

Jerry Kroot

email address removed for privacy reasons

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1GGTKMWIFfFZ08vZf0RTlsb398R1Jk6D1/edit?usp=drive_link&ouid=11..., https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1iwYVQnllngB9fmsbgT1eQJ1Us9NouNVh/edit?usp=drive_link&ouid=11...

5 Replies

@Jerykro 

I can try to guide you on how you might approach this task. Here is a step-by-step guide:

1. Open Excel Workbook: Open the Excel workbook that contains the list of residents and their email addresses.
  2. Format Data: Ensure that your data is organized with clear headers. You should have columns for "Name" and "Email Address."
  3. Export Data to CSV:
    • Save your Excel file as a CSV (Comma Separated Values) file.
      • Go to "File" -> "Save As."
      • Choose a location.
      • In the "Save as type" dropdown, select "CSV (Comma delimited) (*.csv)."
      • Click "Save."
  4. Prepare for Mail Merge:
    • Open your mailing program (e.g., Microsoft Word for a Word mail merge or your email client).
    • Start a new document or email.
    • Look for the "Mailings" or "Mail Merge" tab.
  5. Insert Merge Fields:
    • In Word, go to the "Mailings" tab and select "Start Mail Merge" -> "Email Messages."
    • Select "Select Recipients" -> "Use an Existing List."
    • Browse and select your CSV file.
    • Insert merge fields like <<Name>> and <<EmailAddress>> where you want them in your message.
  6. Complete the Mail Merge:
    • Complete the mail merge process according to the steps in your specific program.
    • Preview the results to ensure the merge fields are working correctly.