Calculating penalty rate hours in a shift that has differing penalty rates

Copper Contributor

Dear Members,

I have been working on this spreadsheet for some time. I have been kindly helped as I have proceeded, but I still have a recurring issue I cannot solve.

I am a bus driver and I am attempting to check my complicated payslip as there are continual mistakes with my pay, especially with a penalty rate that is calculated based on start and end times.

I have attached a full description of the problem I am trying to solve, which can be summarised as such;

1. If I start work before 7:00am and finish after 7:00am I am paid on a pro-rata basis those hours worked. For example I f I start work at 5:30am and finish at 1:30pm I am paid a 15% penalty rate for 1.5 hours.
  2. If I start work before 8:00pm and finish after 8:00pm I am paid for the full shift. For example if start work at 3:00pm and finish at 11:00pm I am paid a 15% penalty rate for 8 hours.

The problem I am trying to solve is to create a formula (if possible) to calculate the varying shift times.

As such please also find attached a spreadsheet with a range of start and end time scenarios that I hope provides the entire scheme of penalty hours that I am trying to achieve.

Thank you, Michael

3 Replies

@Mike_Geraghty 

To calculate penalty rate hours in a shift that has differing penalty rates, you can use a combination of Excel functions such as IF, TIME, and MOD. Below is a step-by-step guide on how to set up a formula to calculate penalty hours based on your provided criteria:

Suppose you have the following setup in your Excel spreadsheet:

• Cell A1: Start Time (e.g., "5:30 AM")
  • Cell B1: End Time (e.g., "1:30 PM")

In cell C1, you can enter the following formula to calculate the penalty hours based on your rules:

=IF(B1<A1,0,IF(A1<TIME(7,0,0),0,IF(B1<TIME(7,0,0),(B1-A1),TIME(7,0,0)-A1)))

This formula checks the start and end times and calculates the penalty hours based on your criteria: