SOLVED

Office 365 "The fine print" popup message - is it legitimate?

Copper Contributor

Greetings,

I have been happily using Office 365 (mostly Word) for many years, and I have never had any problems with any of the products. This morning when I loaded Word I was confronted by a pop-up message called "The fine print" asking me to accept terms of use in order to continue. I have been using Word for several years on this computer and I have never seen anything like this, I just want to confirm that this pop-up message is in fact legitimate and not some form of spyware or adware impersonating Microsoft.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated,

Glenn

Here is a screenshot of the pop-up:MSWord-TheFinePrintv2.png

122 Replies

I don't know of a public link to this information. I took it from our Admin center of Office 365. Im not an MS representative. Just a user like you, or more specifically IT admin at organization using Office 365.

Honestly, i doubt you will get official reaponse here. If you need that, file a support ticket and ask them to provide you one. 

Office is not always updating on the same day everywhere (sometimes it takes a week or longer), it can be that update was released on July 28, but your client updated later. Mine hasn't updated until i ran update check manually yesterday and got the same popup. That confirmed my theory of faulty update and not malware. 

Oleg, thanks, didn't realize that. 

I thought it better to check here, than to open a support ticket for a known issue.  And, other comments didn't indicate an exceptional experience with support on this topic.  :)

The reason I'm being so cautious is that, years ago, my then-new pc got ransomware.  I now use the paid version of Malwarebytes antimalware, but I'm still skeptical about unexpected popup msgs.