Auto-adjustment of finish date

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I am completely new to MS Project, I am supposed to set it up at work and I am struggling with something hopefully you will be able to help me with.

First of all, bear in mind that what i need is reverse planning : i am given a project end date and, ultimately, i need to know (based on task duration and predecessors) when i need to start it.

For this purpose, I set the "Schedule From Finish Date" option (here, finish date = 24/05/2024) and I created a new project with just two tasks (Task 1 and Task 2 - Task 2 having Task 1 as a predecessor).

If i complete Task 1 earlier :

- Why doesn't it start Task 2 at an earlier date ?

- Shouldn't it make my project finish earlier as well ? I mean, i know i set May 24th as the finish date but if my previous tasks are completed ahead of schedule, Isn't MS Project smart enough to consider that my project can finish sooner ? If not, what changes can i operate so it can do it ?

MS01.jpg

MS02.png

Thanks a lot for your help !

3 Replies

@anthony0988,

First, let me answer your two questions directly.

1. When you schedule from the finish date Project sets a constraint of "as late as possible". Thus when your first task finished early, the second task was constrained to start as late as possible such that it met the 5/24/24 project finish date.

2. Is Project not smart enough to know your plan could finish earlier? No, Project is "dumb" it doesn't "know" anything. It is just a tool that responds to user inputs and creates schedules based on it's scheduling algorithms. It's up to the user to understand how Project works and then it can be used very effectively to help create and manage schedules.

Tempting as it may seem I suggest you NOT set your project to schedule from the finish. Being new to Project is challenging enough but reverse scheduling will make things all the more difficult, as perhaps you are finding out.