Pivot Error - PLEASE HELP

Copper Contributor

I have been using Excel for many decades, since maybe 1960.

I consider myself pretty good at it … but now 78 years old (maybe a bit rusty) and this error has always been a problem.

My excel file has perhaps 15+ pivots tables in it.

But when I do CTRL-ALT-F5 this error appears … see file attached.

"The Pivot field name is not valid. To create a PivotTable report, you must use data that is organized as a list with labeled columns. If you are changing the name of a PivotTable field, you must type a new name for the field."

I tried to go to every Pivot table in my file to do a refresh on it but cannot find it.

HOW DO I FIND IT??

Thank you.

5 Replies

@Joe-D78

Hi,

The file isn't attached!

@Joe-D78 

@Joe-D78 wrote:

I have been using Excel for many decades, since maybe 1960.

Wow, that would be a record. Even challenging Bob Umlas who has used Excel since V0.99 (1985).

Even more challenging considering that the first spreadsheet program VisiCalc only appeared in 1979.

@Joe-D78 

Alt/JT F A

Not that I would use it.  I am not keen on keyboard shortcuts since my memory for such things is rubbish and, as a result, I am more likely than not to hit the wrong key sequence.  Also found

https://stackoverflow.com/.../default-excel-keyboard-shortcut-ctrl-alt-f5-no-longer-works

@Detlef Lewin 

You wrote "Even more challenging considering that the first spreadsheet program VisiCalc only appeared in 1979,.

I'm not going to challenge that VisiCalc date, but I need to add to this to the conversation:  recently I was reflecting on the fact that I was creating applications (in HR of all things) using addressable multi-dimensional arrays in 1971-72 using the programming language APL, on an IBM mainframe. Check it out: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/APL_(programming_language)