Get Data

Copper Contributor

I'm not sure if I'm wording this right. and I'm also new to the following.

I am using the "get data from the web" in Excel. I am receiving the data no problem. but as the file gets larger it takes too long to retrieve the data. is there a way to somehow delete the data every time is retrieved or what can I do so it doesn't take so long to retrieve the data.

37 Replies

@Andytcc 

What's the nature of the data you're retrieving? What's the source? Does the source itself have a way to limit based, say, on start and end dates?

I'm actually getting the data from a csv file on an SD card in a PLC. I'm doing it with an IP address and the name of the file. every hour the PLC writes 201 values in the next available row in the csv file. and i get the data from the csv file and do graphs and whatnot to my liking.

@Andytcc 

So maybe the answer to your question is present in that methodology. Can you not just delete what's on the SD card after each time that you bring it in and convert from CSV to XLSX? Then just append the new data to what you already have in Excel?

It's a question: I'm not speaking from experience in bringing data in that way. I routinely bring in data from the internet, but via a different set of steps (specifically, I export from a financial services organization, then import that "up-to-date" data on investments).

That's a good point. Thank you.
I've thought of it, but I don't know how I would delete the data without doing it manually.
If there was a way to delete the data automatically once retrieved, I've got it made.
What benefit would I have converting to XLSX? Doesn't the format have to be CSV for "Get Data"? As for the PLC, it will only write to CSV.
The other thing, I'm only the designer not the end user, even though I'll still have access.
Just to explain a bit deeper how I manage retrieved Data: