SOLVED

SharePoint Hub Site Creation - Problem with Register-SPOHubSite

Copper Contributor

Hello. New to the community :) . I'm trying to convert a Communication site to a Hub Site using the SPO Powershell Command Register-SPOHubSite but when I run it, it asks the following:

cmdlet Register-SPOHubSite at command pipeline posistion 1

Supply values for the following parameters:

Principals[0]:

I'm new to powershell so I don't know what values it's wanting or if I'm just doing something wrong...Thanks for any assistance! 

12 Replies
Can you paste your commands? Ok can replace org name or you want in the urls but should just be register-spohubsite -site “url”

Hi Chris,

Can you please try like below

Syntax : Register-SPOHubSite -Site <Communication site url>

Example : Register-SPOHubSite -Site https://xxxxxxx.sharepoint.com/sites/MyHubSite

Hi Chris. Thank you for your response. Yes here is what I tried:

Capture.PNG

Hi Jenkins. Thanks for your response. Yes I tried the following:

Capture.PNG

That looks like a lot of sub sites in that URL. The hub sites need to be a site collection root site. Shouldn’t be more than tenant.sharepoint.com/sites/sitename for url. “Teams” being a custom site collection naming scheme may be causing issue but not sure there. First let us know if your trying to go a sub site cause that would be the cause.

Hi Chris,

I tried using https://xxxx.sharepoint.com/teams/sitecollection, it is working.

Could you please Download and install the SharePoint Online Management Shell and try. maybe latest  version missing. 

That was going to be my next suggestion but still seemed that the url is a sub site. Will see what Chris says!

principals[0] are list of people allowed to add sites to the hub.

principals are assigned to the attribute permissions

best response confirmed by Chris Reyes (Copper Contributor)
Solution
Hello Chris,