Conditional Formatting in Sharepoint List based on expiry date within 30 days

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I have a sharepoint list and I've added conditional formatting to the Expiry Date column to indicate that the date has passed - it's bold, larger font and red in colour.

Kat_Lane_0-1633475836477.png

I also want to add conditional formatting to indicate that something is due to expire within the next 30 days but unfortunately I can only choose today or a specified date and can't alter those at all.  Ideally it would look exactly the same as the expired date above, only the text will be orange in colour.

I use this formatting in a specific view as well to be able to see at a glance the items that are expired or still need to be signed off on for each employee, so I would want this to show up there as well so that we know what's coming up to expire and what we need to chase copies of.

Kat_Lane_1-1633476135384.png

Any suggestions?  JSON code? (which I'm a complete novice at)  I've tried piecing something together from various other posts but I'm not familiar enough with it to have any idea of what I'm doing.

Thank you in advance.

8 Replies

@Kat_Lane go to "Format this column", switch to advanced mode then paste in the following JSON and click Save:

{
  "$schema": "https://developer.microsoft.com/json-schemas/sp/column-formatting.schema.json",
  "elmType": "div",
  "txtContent": "@currentField",
  "style": {
    "color": "=if(@currentField <= @now, 'red',if(@currentField <= @now + 2592000000 && @currentField > @now,'orange','green'))"
  }
}

conditionalFormatDateColumn2.png

With an extra line in the style section you can make the red bold, the orange semi-bold and the rest normal:

{
  "$schema": "https://developer.microsoft.com/json-schemas/sp/column-formatting.schema.json",
    "color": "=if(@currentField <= @now, 'red',if(@currentField <= @now + 2592000000 && @currentField > @now,'orange','green'))",