Advice for creating and migrating to a SharePoint Intranet

Copper Contributor

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to SharePoint Online, having done a course in it and mostly self-practice since then, but I've never had to create an intranet for a company before and I just got a new job where one of my tasks is to create an intranet for a client using SharePoint Online. (I'm essentially a paid intern.)

Before I give you the rundown, here is the premise and 'heads up':
  • I'm aware of the different types of sites, such as Communication and Team sites which include M365 Groups, as well as the sites that don't include M365 Groups (for niche purposes I've heard.)
  • I'm aware of the ability to set different permission levels at site level, library/list level, file/folder level, user level (though this is not recommended I've heard), and group level.
  • I'm also aware (but not familiar with) Azure AD and having the ability to set separate permissions in the database for internal and external users, as well as some authentication biz you can do.
Here's the rundown:
  1. The client has only ever used Windows File Explorer for document storage and email for sharing, never any cloud services. They want to switch to using cloud services as they are a new company and would like to set up an intranet for all their employees-to-come when they grow more. Currently, afaik, they are about 5 strong with 2 of those being the founders.