How do you update a SharePoint page with Microsoft Form submissions kept in an Excel file?

Copper Contributor

I am working on a SharePoint site used to track Change Requests. I am pretty new to using Microsoft services for this kind of use case, but after some struggles, I discovered that I can use a Microsoft Form to track new Change Requests on an Excel sheet that is located within the SharePoint directories. The issue that I am experiencing is that I cannot pull live data from the Excel file. 

My objective is to have a SharePoint page named "Schedule of Change" which lists the Change Requests from the excel file on the SharePoint site itself. For example, if a user fills out the Microsoft form and a new row with this submission data is added to the excel file, the SharePoint site should also see this and add it to the Schedule of Change page. In other words, I want the content on the Schedule of Change page to stay up to date with the content of the excel file. 

I am pretty open to how the info is presented. Ideally, I would like to have a table on the Schedule of Change page where each change request is a new row, but if this isn't possible, then I will take what I can get. 

What I've Tried

I attempted to create a list from an excel file, however it only pulled the data once upon list creation, and it would not update when any new change requests were made. 

I also researched this issue on the Microsoft forum and found some pages that recommend creating an automation, but the instructions didn't match what I saw and I wasn't able to automate this successfully.

Can anyone provide instructions on how to read excel rows and add them to a SharePoint page even as new data comes into the excel form? 

2 Replies

Hi @Geocie,

You have two options:

1) Embed the Excel File

• Go to your SharePoint Site
  • Go to "Gear"->"Add a Page"->"Create Page"
  • Name that Page "Schedule of Change"