SOLVED

Drop down list "moving" selection when selected in another cell

Copper Contributor

I am rather new to excel but have been able to figure out most things with a quick google search. However, this one thing is giving me trouble.

Here's what I'm trying to achieve:

I have a spreadsheet with different zones I can assign my employees to.

Each zone has cells that are linked to a table with my employee's names and I can select them via drop down menu.

When I want to move an employee to a different zone, I would like to be able to select their name in a different cell under the new zone and have it automatically reset the old cell containing their name to a blank cell.

Everything I see is just to make it so they can only be selected once, but this would eliminate them from the drop down menu as I assign them.

That means when I want to "move" them I'd have to reset their current cell to blank manually before being able to select them elsewhere.

I want the drop down list to include all of the names all the time but for it to reset the old cell to blank when I select them elsewhere.

Is this possible?

Please help!

10 Replies

@sophiemarie92 

Is it possible for you to post a facsimile (no real names or other identifiable realities) of your spreadsheet. It's hard to follow what you're describing from your verbal description alone.

Post that facsimile on OneDrive or GoogleDrive with a link here that grants access to it. Not an image; an actual working spreadsheet.

@mathetes  The place I work for doesn't allow me to share links to spreadsheets I create at work. When I go to share the link and manage access, the  "anyone" option is greyed out and it says my company is preventing me from selecting this option. Since I don't have a PC or excel at home, pictures are the best I can do. Hope this helps explain it.

So let's say I have my list of employees and right now I have these employees working in A zone and B zone. But I need to move Amy to B zone.