SOLVED

Office 365 "The fine print" popup message - is it legitimate?

Copper Contributor

Greetings,

I have been happily using Office 365 (mostly Word) for many years, and I have never had any problems with any of the products. This morning when I loaded Word I was confronted by a pop-up message called "The fine print" asking me to accept terms of use in order to continue. I have been using Word for several years on this computer and I have never seen anything like this, I just want to confirm that this pop-up message is in fact legitimate and not some form of spyware or adware impersonating Microsoft.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated,

Glenn

Here is a screenshot of the pop-up:MSWord-TheFinePrintv2.png

122 Replies
Thanks Eric. We all appreciated the quick response!

Hi Wim and all

There may be a registry issue with your customers computer where they don't have the permissions to make it stick. Maybe try this link and see if it helps?

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/884202/you-must-accept-the-office-end-user-license-agreemen...

In terms of the pop up, when you install office (and other products) they do ask you to accept the terms of use or the licensing agreement to use the software (e.g. to indemnify them in case of damage, etc). We all accept the conditions and most people don't read them.

From the look of the image and from what you are all experiencing, it appears that Microsoft may have made some changes to the licence agreement where they need you to accept the new terms.

If you want to use the software, you will have to accept the agreement and the problem should go away.

Just my thoughts! Best of luck friends.

Cheers

Damien

Glenn and folks troubled with Office 365,

I am very disappointed with Office 365 and will be looking for alternatives and compensation.