SOLVED

Run Windows Updates with Powershell Remotely

Iron Contributor

Hi,

I'm kind of new to Powershell, and trying to automate some stuff.
I found one nice Powershell module named PSWindowsUpdate to manage Windows Updates. I need to create some automated updating for my servers, which are around 50.

Everything runs fine locally, but I started to search on how to write a script to do it remotely, but from what I've read that has a lot of issues, due to permissions related to remote updating.

I create a remote session with "Enter-PSSession -ComputerName <servername>. But when I run the command "Install-WindowsUpdate -KBArticleID <kbID> -AcceptAll -Install" I get this error:

"Access is denied. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80070005 (E_ACCESSDENIED))
+ CategoryInfo : NotSpecified: (:) [Get-WindowsUpdate], UnauthorizedAccessException
+ FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.UnauthorizedAccessException,PSWindowsUpdate.GetWindowsUpdate"

I've been reading and understand that the problem is related to a permissions issue on powershell and remote updating.

I've read some topics about it, and in some there a solution presented, which is JEA. So I've followed this code to run on the server side:
"

New-PSSessionConfigurationFile -RunAsVirtualAccount -Path .\VirtualAccount.pssc
# Note this will restart the WinRM service:
Register-PSSessionConfiguration -Name 'VirtualAccount' [-ShowSecurityDescriptorUI] -Path .\VirtualAccount.pssc -Force
# Check the Permission property:
Get-PSSessionConfiguration -Name 'VirtualAccount'
# Those users will have full unrestricted access to the system!

But I got this error:
"Register-PSSessionConfiguration : A positional parameter cannot be found that accepts argument '[-ShowSecurityDescriptorUI]'.
At line:1 char:1
+ Register-PSSessionConfiguration -Name 'VirtualAccount' [-ShowSecurity ...
+ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~