Log sources down

Copper Contributor

Hi All,

I'm new to sentinel and I'm trying to monitor silent log sources, for example if I have 10 ASA firewall sending syslog to Sentiel, how can I detect if one of them become silent ?

I found the below posts but it doesn't really answer my question, the second link is close to what I need but it seems (if I understand it correctly) that it list log source type or table not getting logs but not a specific log source :

https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/microsoft-sentinel/how-to-monitor-log-sources-in-azure-sentin...

https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/microsoft-sentinel/list-of-reporting-sourcetypes/m-p/906926

I suppose that I could do a query checking all log sources and reporting source that did not send log for more than X hours, But I cannot find a query that list all log sources.. Is it possible to do this ?

Thanks !

5 Replies
There is no query that can list all log sources. You could use a watchlist of which data connectors send data to which tables and use that to see if any of those tables have not received data in your given time span.

@LuxPL 

I'm fairly new to Sentinel as well and have been working on the same task (as I'm new, this may not be the most elegant or correct way to achieve the goal). However, here's what I've found to get the number of minutes since the last log for each Cisco ASA (Cisco ASA logs should be in the CommonSecurityLog table)...

CommonSecurityLog
| where DeviceVendor == "Cisco"
| where DeviceProduct == "ASA"
| summarize Last_Log = datetime_diff("minute",now(), max(TimeGenerated)) by Computer
| where Last_Log > 15

This one will look for multple DeviceVendors...

CommonSecurityLog
| where DeviceVendor matches regex "(Cisco|Check Point|Fortinet)"
| summarize Last_Log = datetime_diff("minute",now(), max(TimeGenerated)) by Computer, DeviceVendor
| where Last_Log > 15

Lastly, this one will union with the Syslog table and give you results for both tables...

CommonSecurityLog