Group Expiration Notification Email Not working

Copper Contributor

Hi,

Question regarding The "365 Group Expiration" and it's "Notification Emails"
https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/solutions/microsoft-365-groups-expiration-policy

"If the group was created via Planner, SharePoint, or any other app, the expiration notifications will always come via email. If the group was created via Teams, the group owner will receive an email and a notification to renew through the activity section."

We're looking to implement this solution and as an admin I'm responsible to do so.
Therefore I found some inactive groups to start testing with.
I sat the Custom lifetime to 30 days and "Email contact for groups with no owners" to my own email.
I have four test groups and they all got an "ExpirationDateTime" (from PS MgGraphBeta export) sat to 2024-02-28.

Today I got two notifictions In Teams regarding expired groups, however I got no emails, and I expected four notifcations and four emails(?)
For us, the emails are more important than Teams notifications.

- I checked my spam and did a Message Trace in Exchange Online, no emails.
- I have a MS 365 E3 License.
- All Groups have an email address and SharePoint Site and all but one have Teams.

- Some are created through Teams, some through SharePoint.
- I am the Owner of all groups.

GroupA - SharePoint created - Got Teams Notification
GroupB - SharePoint created - (No Teams) - No notifications
GroupC - Teams created - Got Teams Notification

GroupD - Teams created - No notifications

Am I missing something here? Thank you!

5 Replies
HEy EaR,

Thanks for your question! Are you able to share the creation dates of the groups?

Are you also able to create some Testing groups? As this may help to rule out some settings that may have changed over time.

Hope to hear from you soon!

Hi @TimBosch,

Thanks for answering! I've added the groups creation dates:

GroupA - SharePoint created - Got Teams Notification - 2023-06-19