error_missing_device when joining a domain with hybrid join config

Copper Contributor

I just inherited this setup, and I've never done a hybrid environment before. I'm just looking for the next clue in the mystery.

I created a VM. I ran dsregcmd /status and it was clean, as expected. No errors.

I joined our domain. I immediatley ran dsregcmd /status again, without even rebooting. 

Previous Registration : 2024-01-30 20:53:16.000 UTC
         Registration Type : sync
               Error Phase : join
          Client ErrorCode : 0x801c03f3
          Server ErrorCode : invalid_request
       Server ErrorSubCode : error_missing_device
          Server Operation : DeviceRenew
            Server Message : The device object by the given id (f6628439-35ae-43c8-969f-7780d1b8d48f) is not found.
              Https Status : 400
                Request Id : c3ba163b-fcd7-4d3e-8525-9fe3b82ec5bb

This happens to all workstations and as far as I can tell, has always happened. Devices do not show up in Entra as expected. The Azure AD Connector seems to be working as users do show up in M365 and Entra.

I'd like to focus on the errors above.  Why is it saying "missing device"? What device is it looking for? Itself? Why? Why would it look for itself and not just create a new record (which is what I'm expecting)?

Any insight appreciated.

7 Replies
The error suggests that the device object has not synced in Entra ID. Do the devices have a line of sight to DC? Have you included the user certificate in attributes for syncing in Entra ID connect synchronisation settings?
So I discovered that Azure AD connect was not set to sync the OU which computers reside in. So this explains why they are not showing up in Entra. Cool. But can you explain what, then, is trying to "sync" it which results in the errors in my original post?

"The error suggests that the device object has not synced in Entra ID. "