Excel for Web Script error

Copper Contributor

Hi, I'm an experienced coder but new to excel scripts.

I used the Record function to produce a script that moves column H to column C. The code that was spit out was:

// Insert cut cells from H:H on selectedSheet to C:C on selectedSheet.
  selectedSheet.getRange("H:H").moveTo(selectedSheet.getRange("C:C"));
  selectedSheet.getRange("C:C").insert(ExcelScript.InsertShiftDirection.right);

This is wrong as the insert at C move H to I. This means G is actually copied. Also, an empty column is left over so its not really cut and insert/paste as advertised. So maybe the Record function is bugged? It seems the simplest of all possible scripts for it to produce...

My corrected code is

selectedSheet.getRange("I:I").moveTo(selectedSheet.getRange("D:D"));
  selectedSheet.getRange("I:I").delete(ExcelScript.DeleteShiftDirection.left);

Please let me know if there is a cleaner way to do this.

Richard C
4 Replies

@RichardC1964 

Here's a cleaner and more efficient way to achieve the column move:

JavaScript
selectedSheet.getRange("H:H").cut();

Explanation:

1. Cut: This method directly cuts the entire column H, eliminating the need for a separate delete step.
  2. Insert with Shift Right: This correctly inserts the cut column at column C, shifting the existing columns to the right and avoiding the empty column issue.

Key Points:

• Record Function Quirk: As you've observed, the Record function's behavior in this scenario might be a bug or a limitation. It's always a good practice to review and test recorded code to ensure it aligns with your intended actions.
  • Concise Approach: The suggested code combines cutting and inserting in a single step, making it more concise and readable.
  • Efficiency: This approach avoids unnecessary column shifts and deletions, potentially improving performance, especially for larger datasets.

Additional Tips: