Counting the number of working staff during specific time periods

Copper Contributor

Hello. I am using excel for to schedule staff. I am an advanced beginner with functions and formulas. What would be the best option to count how many staff are working in 4 hour increments?

Jen_Sova_0-1710311794414.png This screen shot is how the schedule is entered, with a start and end time. I have 62 employees

Jen_Sova_1-1710311830544.png This is the 4 hr increments that I would like a count of employees scheduled.

Jen_Sova_2-1710311867754.png This is the formula I am using? Does this look correct? My counts correlate with the exception of my issue below.

I am having difficulty with the count between 11pm and 3am. I also have errors in my count on the days a person is scheduled to work 1230pm to 1am. This formula is adding that person to all of the 4 hours increments. Any suggestions?

8 Replies
I have more questions than answers right now:
a) when you want a count for that time range is that anyone that works at all during that period or work for the entire period?
works at any point: ([start time]<=[period end])*([end time]>=[period start])
works whole period: ([start time]<=[period start])*([ent time]>=[period end])
b) how are those start and end times entered? I assume they are not text but are they just time? So wouldn't 23:00 be after 7:00? or is the date included so 23:00 is really 3/9/2024 23:00?
c) you broke out the start and end times nicely on the schedule why no on the periods so you can use a formula to easily grab the start and end of the desired periods?
d) you say it is working but the formula you give doesn't make sense to me that it would work because it is looking at only 1 column.