SOLVED

Migrating Access back end to the cloud

Copper Contributor

Hi.  I am an amateur.  Using Access 365, I have created a small Access database for a local charity and I would like it be usable by 3 or 4 people at once and so I think I need to get the back end (the tables) into the cloud.  I have tried to set it up with Azure SQL, SQL Server and I've tried to use SQL Express as a stepping stone.  But, in every case, the technology is impenetrable.  I have downloaded endless software packages that I think the guys in India have recommended (although the language barrier is very difficult) so that I have installed MS Data migration assistant, MS SQL Server Express, MS SQL Server Migration Assistant for Access, MS SQL Server Tools 2018 and SQL Server Configuration Manager.  Can anyone direct me to a step-by-step procedure, suitable for dummies, that can help me achieve this?  

Regards

Graham

39 Replies
best response confirmed by GrahamCresswell (Copper Contributor)
Solution
Do you want to run this relational database application as a web - browser based application, or as a desktop application?

I don't know which "guys in India" you mean, or what they recommend, but you really don't need a lot of other software packages if you are going to continue to use this as a desktop application. However, if you want to replace the Access interface with one that will operate in a web browser, you WILL have to invest in and learn to use the appropriate tools for that.

So, start by explaining who will actually use it, where they are physically located (in a single facility or dispersed among several) and how you anticipate using this relational database application. From there, we can examine some options.