Error: Empty List but get error - exceeds the list view threshold enforced by the administrator

Copper Contributor

The attempted operation is prohibited because it exceeds the list view threshold enforced by the administrator.

I have added a Relevant Documents web part added to a page. 

On 40+ sites, I have added this part on a similar page and no issues.

One 1 site, I receive this error. 

D6BD145B.PNG

The only setting changed - but it matches all other pages with the same added web partThe only setting changed - but it matches all other pages with the same added web part

I am a Farm Admin. The threshold cannot be the issue (it's set at 5000). The Relevant Documents web part (filtered to "Documents checked out to me") should show anywhere from 0-10 documents for a given site (and it does).

On the problem site - it should show 1 checked out document - but I get the above error instead. The web part has no other settings configured beyond the default. other than the "Include documents checked out to me" (as opposed to "Included documents last modified by me"). 

I've tried upping the setting to allow 500 items be shown, but that made no difference. 

Appreciate any help.

10 Replies
So based on the fact that you expect different results there must be different amounts of documents on each site. If you go to your source library you are pulling from settings it should show the amount of items in the library. Just because it’s filtered to 1 doesn’t exactly mean that it’s going to mean it can’t cross the threashold.

Any lookup columns attached to metadata?

Seems odd but report back how many items are in the library.
Have you checked how many documents in the library are checked out to you? Also: How many documents do you have in the library?

The number of total items in each site will vastly vary depending on how active that site is. 

As I mentioned, I'm using the Webpart: Relevant Documents with the setting "checked out to me".