SOLVED

Command New-DistributionGroup doesn't work

Copper Contributor

Hi Guys,

I am really new with Powershell, so I apologise, if I can't be very clear with the description of my problem.

My Company uses Microsoft 365 and I wanted to use Powershell  and the command : 

New-DistributionGroup  -Name because I wanted to creat a Group for a RoomList.

I get the following error.

error.png

I connect to ExchangeOnline via powerShell:

Get-ExecutionPolicy

Set-ExecutionPolicy Unrestricted

Connect-ExchangeOnline

I Globlal Admin

I have installed the exchange module

Install-Module ExchangeOnlineManagement

in the powrshell help I can only find 3 commands with New-D but not the one mentioned in microsoft.

Hilfe.png

https://learn.microsoft.com/de-de/exchange/troubleshoot/calendars/conference-rooms-not-displayed

What am I doing wrong?

When use the Command Get-DistributionGroup, i can see the Details

Get.png

Many thanks in Advance.

Eduardo

6 Replies

@Eduardo_Ricardez 

Hi, Eduardo.

Don't worry about not seeing the command in the PowerShell ISE as by default it's only aware of modules installed on your computer at first. If you want to see the Exchange Online commandlets loaded as part of connecting, then you have to perform the connection inside the ISE, not outside of it, and then you'll see the module name in the list (prefixed with "tmpEXO" and then a randomised suffix) - as shown below:

LainRobertson_0-1691497405327.png

Putting the ISE to the side for a moment, here's three basic commandlets you can run from any old PowerShell prompt to incrementally check if you have access to the commandlets you're wanting to use:

# Connect to Exchange Online.
Connect-ExchangeOnline -Organization robertsonpayne.onmicrosoft.com -ShowBanner:$false;

# Quick confirmation that we're connected without issues - see the example screenshot below for the output from this command.