Should I upgrade to Access 2016 or 2021

Copper Contributor

Hello - I have been using Microsoft Access 2010 for many years.

It has been a great tool because it allows me to use it's drag and drop "intuitive" interface to create macros that I can run daily that import files, run queries, and export the results of those queries. The best part of Access 2010 is that I haven't had to do hardly any SQL (or other programming) and have been able to easily edit the relevant queries and imports/exports using the Macros features whenever the content or structure of my tables or queries need to be revised. Then each day, I simply run the Macro (one click essentially) and it runs all of my the imports, runs the queries, and then runs the exports (which I then import manually to various locations online). In other words, the best part of using Access is that I don't have to reach out to a developer or programmer every time that a file changed, or that a query or table column needed to be edited.

So, my question is whether Access 2016 or Access 2021 will be able to do the same kind of thing. I believe I had read awhile back that Macros are no longer as easy to use in the newer versions of Access, so I figured I would check here first to see if it is recommended that I stick with Access 2010.

Also, if you have broader insight into other tools that I should possibly use (such as another drag and drop tool that is similar to Access, or even a basic option that uses MySQL or other SQL databases....but designed to be used by non-programmer types), please feel free to suggest any alternative tools.

(And just an FYI, I am having problems with Access 2010 where it keeps freezing, after upgrading to a Windows 11 Computer. That is the reason I am considering upgrading now.)
Thanks for any suggestions!

4 Replies

Hi,

> I believe I had read awhile back that Macros are no longer as easy to use in the newer versions of Access