SOLVED

SharePoint Online: What Happens to Sub Sites if You Delete the Parent Site?

Deleted
Not applicable

Hi SharePoint Online Experts,

I am starting to build out a fresh SharePoint Online site for my group, and am still going back and forth on what the optimal design is to optimize the navigation and user experience of my environment.  I am not a techie...I am part of the business that is trying to get this done :-).

I have the standard top level "SharePoint site collection," and underneath that I have a Site, and under the Site I have 3 Sub sites. 

My question is what happens to the lower level sub sites if I delete their parent site (in-between the site collection and 3 sub sites)...see below?  I am considering making a mega menu by creating a hierarchical dropdown from the site collection to the 3 sub sites WITHOUT the need for an added navigation step in-between.

Site Collection

-> Site

-> Sub Site

-> Sub Site

-> Sub Site

Thank you in advance!!!

Doug Doerhoff

(ddoerhoff@gmail.com)

13 Replies

Thanks for the quick Reply!  However, correct me if I am wrong, but that link gives specifics around what happens if you delete a site collection (the top level of SharePoint Online).  I do not want to delete a site collection, I want to delete the next level down (a sub site to the site collection).  If I delete that level, will I loose that level's children sub sites?...meaning all that I would have left over is just the site collection.

Site Collection Site   (LEVEL 1)

-> Site                  (LEVEL 2) 

-> Sub Site     (LEVEL 3) 

-> Sub Site     (LEVEL 3) 

-> Sub Site     (LEVEL 3) 

Yes,
You will delete all the subsites under the subsite you delete.

One follow on question.  Understanding that children subsites are DELETED when their Parent sites are DELETED...is there a way to move a children subsite to a different Parent site before the currrent Parent site is deleted? 

@Deleted wrote:

That is correct.