Split Tunnel Implemented. But, some of the traffic still going via VPN

Copper Contributor

Hi,

I am new to Microsoft Teams and I am wondering why some of Microsoft Teams traffic and going straight to the internet and some are going via VPN. We use Cisco AnyConnect and has configured dynamic split tunnel. What, I noticed is that traffic flow for Audio Calling, Video Calling, Sharing and  Meetings are all going via VPN. But, the rest are going straight to the internet. Is this a normal behavior? I thought, that once we implemented Split tunnel all Microsoft Teams traffic are going straight to internet. Thank you.

note: We added all Microsoft Teams and Skype  for Business Online addresses in the dynamic exclusion list

10 Replies
Hello,
Is the traffic that you are seeing going still thru VPN categorized as Allow here?

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/enterprise/urls-and-ip-address-ranges?view=o365-world...

also

"Signaling traffic is performed over HTTPS and isn't as latency sensitive as the media traffic and is marked as Allow in the URL/IP data and thus can safely be routed through the VPN client if desired."

"In certain scenarios, often unrelated to Teams client configuration, media traffic still traverses the VPN tunnel even with the correct routes in place. If you encounter this scenario, then using a firewall rule to block the Teams IP subnets or ports from using the VPN should suffice."

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/enterprise/microsoft-365-vpn-securing-teams?view=o365...
In the first link that Andrew sent it the listing of the ports and traffic. There are categories like Optimize Required, Allow Required, etc. The article at https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/enterprise/microsoft-365-network-connectivity-princip... says what you need to do for each of them.