SOLVED

Microsoft Teams - iPad app

Copper Contributor

Hi all, 

Due to the current climate, my workplace (secondary school) is switching to using the Microsoft Office platform to deliver our classes remotely. We currently use windows laptops but being a Mathematics teacher I also use my iPad to do particularly tricky sketches. 

My current problem is that I have downloaded Microsoft teams to my iPad and it is the latest version, however I am unable to make "meetings" on the iPad. This feature is enabled by the school as I can do it on my laptop. 

I have looked into trouble shooting the issue and it seems to have been an issue since 2017 but none of the trouble shooting I've tried has worked. 

A colleague of mine started a meeting which I was then able to join on my iPad, but I am unable to actually find the button or where on the app I can start a meeting from. 

Is anyone able to please share some insight as to what I can do? Alternatively provide me with a recommendation on how I can use my iPad as a tablet to then connect to my laptop so I can continue to sketch on that; cast the iPad screen to my laptop and then I can share my screen (laptop) with the students? 

Apologies for the long winded questioning, I want to ensure that I am able to maximise my abilities to teach remotely in this particularly difficult time. 

Kind Regards

22 Replies

@angela_salesian I am experiencing the exact same frustration- I don’t think it’s possible- which seems bizarre to me.  If I can join a meeting it seems to work great — I can share my screen, run a powerpoint, have live captions,... But for some reason there doesn’t seem to be any way to start a meeting.

I can create meetings in the Teams app but it never seems to associate with any sort of video/conference ability.