SOLVED

Microsoft Graph PowerShell SDK Module OneDrive Folder Permissions Assignment

Copper Contributor

As an M365 Global Admin, I have been tasked with creating a new folder in other users OneDrive root folder (Documents) we can call that folder 'myFolder', then I need to assign a Microsoft Azure Security group ('myGroup') to that folder with read/write permissions. I have a list of users (taking input from txt file of UPNs), and am able to loop through the users and create the folder, so step one is possible, but where I am failing is the assignment of the permissions, am using PowerShell 7 and the MS Graph PowerShell Mod, actually for the folder creation I used the API and invoke-method, but I am running into problems since OneDrive is on top of SharePoint, I am not sure how to accomplish this task. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

11 Replies
best response confirmed by ShaneGibson (Copper Contributor)
Solution

It would be helpful if you posted some code snippets for the Graph request.

I am not sure if you are stuck with Microsoft Graph PowerShell, but I was able to do what you needed to do with PnP PowerShell:

$url = "<ONEDRIVEURL>"
Connect-PnPOnline -Url $url -Interactive
$oneDriveDefaultListName = "Documents"
$folderToCreate = "myFolder"
$securityGroupToAdd = "Group1"
$permission = "Contribute"
Add-PnPFolder -Name $folderToCreate -Folder $oneDriveDefaultListName
Set-PnPFolderPermission -List $oneDriveDefaultListName -Identity "$oneDriveDefaultListName/$folderToCreate" -User $securityGroupToAdd -AddRole $permission

If you are stuck with Graph API (and Azure Security Groups), maybe take a look at these links:

Send an invite to access an item - Microsoft Graph v1.0 | Microsoft Learn

https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/graph/api/resources/driverecipient?view=graph-rest-1.0#properties

@Tristan999 

Thank you for your reply, I greatly appreciate it!