SOLVED

Company procedures and policies: documents vs pages?

Iron Contributor

Hi.

I'm about to move all our company's procedures and policies over to SharePoint, but I'm wondering if I should use a Document Library or Pages. All procedures / policies mostly follow the same main Word-format with a set of headers and body text, perhaps a few images, links etc.

A document libary with Word files is more traditional, but I really like the more modern layout of SharePoint pages, built for web and mobile from the ground up. 

What are the potential pros and cons of choosing one over the other, and is there any good reason why either could be a bad choice?

4 Replies

@Tormod Solem Slupphaug 

I am new to SharePoint and i happened to have the same idea as you. I like how on pages you can "link" related policies which in this case would be pages and it would be easy in access and navigation.

Let me know what you did, and what was the outcome :).

Hi @isaiasandrade
We ended up going for SharePoint Pages, and I haven't regretted it so far.

Pros:

• The usual 2-3 first pages with revision details, etc. are hidden away from the end user, and they're instead immediately brought to the stuff that really matters. Revision history is still available, but it doesn't distract the end user.
  • Gone is looking for the latest Word or pdf version. Everyone always see the latest published version and nothing else.
  • More modern and consistent look.
  • Use of Windows' stock photos is easily available and gives a more welcoming user experience.
  • Responsiveness for viewing procedures on mobile.
  • Comment field at the bottom. Can be used to comment and tag users when finding stuff that should be updated, is unclear, etc.. We're a small company and we also use the comment field to have a "Read and aknowledged" confirmation on a few of our procedures.
  • Easy to share

Cons: