Why is "Activate device admin app" displaying when setting up Outlook on Android?

Brass Contributor

Hi Everyone,

I'm not very experienced with the Intune product set and within my tenant I don't have admin access to manage any settings related to mobile access management.

From the beginning of this week, I'm receiving reports from people installing the Outlook for Android app and connecting to our tenant that they are seeing an additional "Activate device admin app" screen that we were not expecting to see.

The screen is that which is displayed at the following URL https://support.office.com/en-us/article/set-up-email-in-the-outlook-for-android-app-886db551-8dfa-4...

831894c6-6d45-4acd-b119-376e39624f8b

None of the admins have reported making any changes at tenant level. 

Are there any reasons why this message will have started appearing at this stage? 

Could Microsoft have made a change to the configuration settings? (perhaps one that has been announced already)

Thanks everyone.

11 Replies

@Counie i believe that is going from Exchange. Could you check if there are any MDM or EAS settings applied?

@Alexander Vanyurikhin I dont' have visibility over admin settings. i just have to take other peoples word for it :)

Is there a resource that I could direct our admin to so that they would know what to check?

is it a case of googling EAS and MDM policy settings for Exchange Online..

I'll give it a shot.

Hi All,

What happened here is that a policy had been applied all along.. and we didn't notice it on the front end because everyone who tested the installation process did so on a mobile device that met the minimum requirements of the policy (mostly they were IT staff)

It's not clear to me who actually set the policy originally , or if in fact anyone in our team manually configured this policy at all .