How do I identify the next personal who needs to do a task in excel?

Copper Contributor

Hey y'all,

Please reference the picture below! I have this Excel where people will be filling in a completed task and I need to identify the next person to do the task. I had a few ways that I thought of doing this, but I cannot find any instructions for how I might accomplish them. This may be a tough one and understand if there is just no way to do it. I am happy with any solutions that someone might be able to provide via formulas, formats, or Macros/VBA. I am not experienced with Macros/VBA, but if someone has a solution through Macros/VBA and can lay out instructions in detail, I can definitely try. Below are some options for results that I would potentially want (in order of the most desired result), but if someone has a different idea that gives me what I am looking for, I am all ears! Thank you!

My first thought was to figure out a way to have Excel automatically move down any row that has someone who completed the task. For example, (please ignore the highlighted row for now) rows 1-14, 17, and 20-21 are completed and I want those to automatically go elsewhere so that people who haven't completed the task can move up to the top. I wouldn't want those rows to be deleted; just moved so that it is easier to bring the next person to the top. And I want this to be automatic as I can't constantly go in and sort every time someone completes a task and do not want others attempting to sort themselves. Through searching everywhere on Google, I realize now that that might be easier said than done.