Forum Discussion
MarchPrime
Apr 07, 2020Copper Contributor
What happens to a user's OneDrive when they are disabled?
Hi all, as the title says: What happens to a user's OneDrive when they are disabled? Background: when we off-board our departing/departed users, we disable the AD account, convert the mailbox to a s...
VasilMichev
Apr 08, 2020MVP
No automatic deletion will be triggered (this only happens when the account is marked for deletion, as detailed here: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/onedrive/retention-and-deletion). And I'm pretty sure that puts you in unsupported configuration/violation of the license terms, but that's for Microsoft to clarify, so best contact them.
jayreg
Mar 11, 2021Tin Contributor
We follow a similar termination process (though we don't convert to shared mailboxes). We just disable everything and remove all licenses for 6 months before deleting. Does anyone know what happens to *shared file links* to a disabled account? I assume they become unusable, but can anyone confirm?