Windows 11 rebooting - help to debug

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I upgraded from Win10 a few weeks ago, and recently I have encountered windows rebooting for no apparent reason.  It seems to happen most when I have locked the screen, but has happened while logged in - I had just clicked the 'Check for Updates' button!

I need help in trying to debug as its driving me nuts.  I'm a developer so every time I come back after getting up it's rebooted and I have to re-open everything again, great for my development process!

So I have already done a few things to make sure its not windows update or crash recovery:

• Taken suggestions from here: https://appuals.com/windows-11-reboots-automatically/
  • Added the registry entry for NoAutoRebootWithLoggedOnUser,
  • Enabled 'Notify me when a restart is required..',
  • Made sure to disable 'Get me up to date',
  • Paused updates for weeks,
  • Disabled 'Automatically restart' under System failure in Start-up and Recovery,

I can't see anything obvious in the Event Logs.  I've updated drivers etc, and can't see any crash dumps or anything.

Happening multiple times a day.  This is driving me nuts.  What can I do?

10 Replies
First method, uninstall nvme or SSD controller from device manager, keep only microsoft standard controller.
Second method.
Type view advanced system settings in search box, execute it.
Then click ons advanced tab , then click on settings under startup and recovery, uncheck mark in automatically restart.

@RAJUMATHEMATICSMSC Thanks for your reply.  I just checked storage controllers and I only have the Microsoft Standard NVM Express controller installed.

I have also disabled Automatic Restart and a bunch of other things mentioned in my post.  I wish it was related to that but still restarts.

Thanks again

Check the group policy settings under windows updates. If it is modified means, then set policy to not configured.
Also type. Gpupdate /force im command prompt run with administrator rights.