Documents Site Help

Copper Contributor

Hi

I am new to Sharepoint.  As a Azure administrator I have created a Documents Site in Sharepoint.  I have full permissions on the site but when I open a document edit and try to save it, it says read only you do not have permission to save the file.        This is in the web portal and via OneDrive. 

I want sharepoint to replace our current Windows File Server this is my aim.

Help thanks.

8 Replies

@glenbow Are you trying to create and edit files in SharePoint or in OneDrive?

Follow Microsoft documentation: Edit a document in a document library 

Please click Mark as Best Response & Like if my post helped you to solve your issue. This will help others to find the correct solution easily. It also closes the item. If the post was useful in other ways, please consider giving it Like.

both. My sharepoint document site/library is sync in my my OneDrive app on my laptop.

@glenbow Are you able to edit documents using SharePoint UI?

Can you try following the Microsoft documentation link given in my above response and let us know if it works for you using SharePoint UI?

Please click Mark as Best Response & Like if my post helped you to solve your issue. This will help others to find the correct solution easily. It also closes the item. If the post was useful in other ways, please consider giving it Like.

it doesnt allow me to edit documents in the Sharepoint UI.

I dont understand why it doesnt as I am the main administrator of the Azuure domain.

@glenbow Are you able to access the site permissions setting for your SharePoint site?

Try hitting URL in below format in browser tab: 

https://contoso.sharepoint.com/sites/siteName/_layouts/15/user.aspx?

If you are able to access above URL, check what are the permissions granted to user account you are using to edit files.

This is what I have got...

IT Department Documentation Members
SharePoint Group Full Control

IT Department Documentation Owners