Will we get control over webcam settings within TEAMS?

Copper Contributor

I did check first and I can only find a similar post from 2018, which is quite a while ago and obviously the world has gone down a very different route since then, with "working at home" for most people, and TEAMS is now a much more important to keeping in contact.

As a photographer and videographer, I have the knowledge on how to use a professional camera as a webcam, and set up external lighting, to get very good quality and correctly lit video on a call.

But that isn't always possible on a work PC as it might require installing software, it's just time consuming to set it all up and get it going, OR regular Joe doesn't have that knowledge or expensive equipment.

This is where a webcam comes in. 

In my case using a Logitech streamcam, which isn't bad. It's more convenient and plug and play, in most cases. But if using a webcam on a work device, you may still need to install software to edit settings.

Which is where you would hope that TEAMS might offer a solution, but it doesn't!

Will we ever get webcam settings, within TEAMS, to adjust the image quality and lighting?

It seems like it wouldn't be that complicated to add in for software which is primarily intended to be used with video broadcasts and webcam calls. It's a fundamental feature. Especially if you want your footage to look professional for clients or just during a team catch up.

10 Replies
There is nothing in the M365 roadmap to suggest this is coming. Best thing you can do for now is make sure your webcam software and drivers etc are bang up to date to get the most out of your Teams video experience.

This is a major omission. It really, really annoys me that there is no camera control in Teams. Not only that, but when you do open a control app such as Logitech Hub or Logitech Capture to configure it, Teams then resets it all again!