Does Microsoft Teams have an equivalent to WebEx Personal Rooms

Steel Contributor

My company is trying to decommission Webex in favor of using Microsoft Teams. Some of our Webex users use their "personal room" feature in Webex. They then send out a link to their personal room so that recurring or one-off meetings always go to their room. People can just drop-in and the link doesn't expire. Is there a way to do something like this in Teams? Thank you!

11 Replies

@Christine Green 

Hi, there are two meeting options in Teams.  These are "Meet Now", and "Schedule a Meeting"

I would say that the Ad-Hoc Meet Now option is the most similar to the webex personal room experience and can be used to set up quick, convenient meetings easily.

@Christine Green 

This isn't how Teams is set up to work, it's a bit like giving me the key for one meeting but I could come back later and listen to anything else I fancy, the key still works. Say I was a journalist who interviewed your CEO, I could dial in and listen to the next Executive meeting etc.. It should not be necessary, it takes a second to add Teams to a meeting, and a second more for people to join in Teams on their laptop or mobile. It tends to stem from people who are used to dialling in, and want to save the whole number in their phones address book, just use the calendar in Teams.

I have seen people who refuse this create themselves one recurring meeting (each instance still has the same link/dial in details) and then use that. Typically they give up pretty quickly, as they get used to Teams they realise it's all just easier the way the product was intended.

@PeterRising Thanks for your response. I am sending your note as well as Steven's to the Webex user and will work with him to get him used to using Teams.