Using a Form for technicians to check equipment - Know the basics but need some advice

Copper Contributor

Hello Everyone,

I am a technician at a university and as it is summertime we have some spare time to go around checking teaching spaces and making sure rooms/equipment are in order and making note of faults to repair before term starts again.

In the past each campus did this in it's own way, some on paper, others using a digital form and basically I have been tasked with finding a way to create a simple 'Room Checker' form that can be accessed from one place across our 5 campuses but the data be available to all technicians and supervisors as neccessary.

Last year I worked on creating a centralised Sharepoint site for all campuses and as MS Teams integrates really nicely with Sharepoint I have built a test form which is available on our AV Home Sharepoint site currently. In trying to update my test form I came across some new questions and wondered if someone here could give me some advice?

- I know that I can download the data from my Form at any time and then filter it inside Excel, so if responses come in from all 5 campuses, I can streamline what I see but as each campus has at least 150 rooms and several technicians could be doing checks at the same time, I was wondering if there was a way to have a room checklist somehow?

At the moment the only way to check which rooms have been done is to filter the data and read through the results and then make a note of which rooms are still outstanding. Can I create a rule or do something specific that would allow me to have conditional formatting or a checklist?

I am not sure how exactly to word my question but the technician could maybe select a room from a drop down list but when a room had been completed it was removed from that list?