Help with multiplication of several cells

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I am new to excel. I have made a spreadsheet to calculate wage increases. I am trying to make a formula that calculates the overtime. In other words, I want to put in the number and have the cell calculate it to 1.5x the rate (e.g. $0.50=$0.75). There is more to it than just that and I will explain below.

There are three columns and one row involved. Let's say column A, B, and C; and row 1.

Column A1 will be the place I insert the wage increase (e.g. $0.50).

Column B1 will be the static number of hours for the calculation (e.g 3120).

Column C1 will be the subtotal.

I need a formula that will do this:

When I put the $0.50 into column A1 it will be converted into 1.5X the the rate increase or $0.75, and then the $0.75 will be multiplied by B1 (3120) and the outcome placed into C1 which would be $2340.00.

I thought this might be done by some type of nesting formula but I have had no success. 

Please help.

Terry

5 Replies

@TerryN1963 

Terry, the key question is if multiplier is always 1.5; or it 1.5 only for the rate $0.5; or it's different depends on rate (or something else).

Depends on this that could be different formulas.

@Sergei Baklan 

The key number is a static number. It will always be 1.5.

Thanks,

Terry

@TerryN1963 

You are tossing terms around here in ways that are potentially confusing. Having been in HR for my career, having learned my way around spreadsheets (Lotus 1-2-3 in my HR  days), I'm concerned first with wanting to make sure we're really not only precise, but also accurate in the description of what you want to calculate.

You being with a sentence saying you're creating "a spreadsheet to calculate wage increases." In the HR world, "wage increases" would refer to  the growth of the base rate of pay, right?