Boy, this is a hard one for me! FORMULA SOS

Copper Contributor

Hello! I am trying to create an updated expense tracking spreadsheet for work that will help our department save TONS of time in the long run, but I am struggling. I am by no means an expert, but usually I can research how to videos and make it happen. After HOURS of videos and trial and error, I landed here. This is just so confusing and I am hoping someone can help tell me how to do it, or, edit the sheet with the basic formulas to get me started so I can figure it out from there. Anything is helpful!

The problem I am trying to solve: Right now we have a very similar sheet as the one attached (minus the tabs on the bottom) and every time we put an expense in, we have to find and open another document matching the correct budget and basically copy all of the same information over to track it. We have 20 people, multiple budget categories, and thousands of expenses each year so this just becomes an absolute mess and waste of time to do. 

The goal: When we add our expense to the main "2023 Budget" sheet, depending on the drop-downs we choose for each column, it will automatically add the total in the correct sheet (which have now been added as tabs at the bottom vs separate documents), for the corresponding line item, in the budget actuals for that month. 

Note: I have completely simplified the attached version to limit confusion. 

Specifics: Each tab after '2023 Budget' represents the name of a different budget. 

• On the 2023 Budget Tab > Under the budget column, only the budget names (aka names of tabs) should appear as a dropdown. 
  • In the Sub Budget column, only the headings for the selected budget sheet should appear as a drop down list option. (This seems silly but we have up to 20 sub categories in some budgets)
  • In the Line Items column, the only items that should show are those under that previously selected Sub Budget column.