SOLVED

Mail Merge and IF ""

Steel Contributor

Hello,

I am a novice user and dont have much experience with mail merge. 

I have poked around on the internet for how to use the IF in mail merge.

What I want to do:

Hide a field and the related text if the field it is blank.

Below is what I have and in preview results it does seem to hide if SWIFT is "" but when I unclick the preview results I no longer see the fields there.  They are completely gone and I dont know how to bring it back.  

{ IF «SWIFT» <>"" SWIFT: «SWIFT» }

How do I bring back the fields?  

I also need to remove that row completely IF "" and think I might need to add /b possibly? I also read that there could be a conflict with \b and IF so I am not sure about how to remove the line completely so there are no blank rows

Note: I have read that you have to follow certain steps and can not type in teh chevrons or the brackets (must hit Control F9 to wrap in brackets).  For the <> I am simply typing it in and assume that is the way to do it. 

Grateful for the help. 

6 Replies

@Tony2021 I assume that you have used CTRL+F9 to insert the field delimiters and that you have used ALT+F9 to toggle off their display.  When the field codes are not displayed, you will not see anything unless you use the Preview Results facility.

To have it so that the paragraph does not appear, set up your document as shown below:

[Text of preceding paragraph.{ IF «SWIFT» <>""¶

SWIFT: «SWIFT»" }¶

[Text for following paragraph.]  

Press the Enter key where the pilcrows (¶) appear in the above field construction.

@Doug_Robbins_Word_MVP 

Hi Doug and thank you for the response. 

I want to make sure I am doing this correct. 

I press enter key as instructed but I dont see that paragraph character anywhere and when I preview the blank space is still there. 

here is a screen shot:

The yellow shade is where the field that will be hidden when ""

Tony2021_0-1646101767466.png