Windows 11 Official broke Surface Pro 7 pen inking

Copper Contributor

I was running Insider Beta Windows 11 on my Surface Pro 7 without any problems. Everything worked. I updated to the official release and the October 19, 2021 update and it broke my 2017 pen inking and the audio. However the eraser click launches apps. It also left a bunch of yellow exclamation points on stuff in Device Manager. I used a Realtek driver from Gigabyte to get sound working.

Something refreshes in Device Manager every couple of seconds. When I uninstall Surface Touch Pen Processor, then it stops refreshing. But then, the touchscreen does not work.

All the hardware works - when I use the pen on a Surface laptop, the buttons and inking work.

I have hard reset the machine, uninstalled a bunch of components and restarted numerous times. I "updated" drivers from c:\program files\surface update and c:\windows\system32\driverstore\filerepository to fix these - no more yellow points.

I am an advanced tech person, so all I need is a pen driver. MS bundles everything in one massive update to make it easier, so they do not have individual drivers. However if it does not go right, then it is waiting for MS to acknowledge and release another update, which is just like another major company that produces tablets.

The Surface Diagnostics for Business app tests more things than the consumer version, but neither tests the pen!

15 Replies
Hey @jacktech have you tried installing the surface app and more importantly the surface extension manager from the Store.

Also it may be a good idea to head over to https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/surface/download-drivers-and-firmware-for-surface-09bb2e09-2a4b-... and download the latest firmware for your surface. I had a similar issue with the touchscreen keyboard popping up. The surface app and surface extension manager are in the store should do the trick but the firmware is also a Good idea