SharePoint Online Search will not find some Sites that I have created

Copper Contributor

Hi everyone, I've ripped out all of my hair and now I'm digging into my skull.  I need your wisdom.

I am an Office 365 Global Admin and SP Admin.  I create SharePoint sites for my company to organize their projects.  Many times after creating the SP Site, I can easily search it in the Search box and find it, as well as on a SharePoint page I am adding the site to a Sites object in the page; however, this is not the case with every site I create as an owner.  Despite creating the sites the same exact way, some sites will just not show up in search results.  
Example: I have a Team Site I created in 2019 (4 years ago). There are tons of files and lists in it and it is used daily with an Access database linked to the lists in it.  I have the search settings to allow content on the site to be searchable for offline availability.  I have performed Reindexing the site numerous times.  The Admin Center lists the site and the settings are identical to other sites that will show up when searching.  I have no special characters in my site names, I have gone through all of the MS Help pages about search settings.  I am the site owner and nobody in my org can search for that site.  The only way to access it from SharePoint online in the web browser is to manually enter in the URL of the site itself.   Search results come up blank.  I have reindexed this site as well as the Documents folder at least 3 times this year alone (not to mention previous 4 years doing it) and NOTHING comes up.  Yet, I can create a SP site with the same configuration without any files in it, and it will show up on search results within 40 minutes.  

I see others online have this issue too but nowhere can I find a fix or a solution.  Anyone know how to fix this?

2 Replies

Hi @James_Kurth