SharePoint gear icon changes

Brass Contributor

Update (Apr 8, 2019): Please vote for this idea, if you face similar issue

https://sharepoint.uservoice.com/forums/329214-sites-and-collaboration/suggestions/37322050-setting-...

What happened to settings menu? 

I'm a site collection admin and suddenly started noticing different options and different UI on Gear icon but it is working fine with Read only user account. 

Note: I'm also in Targeted Setting and we are using classic site. 

Look at the difference in the screenshots. It changed the top orange bar and new options !

How can I have the same Orange top bar?

How can I get the old user experience?

What is this Themes? How can I create a custom one that changes the top bar? 

My View:

MSFTCaptureSettingsOwner.JPG

Read user's view: 

MSFTCaptureSettingsUser.JPG

7 Replies
This was posted in the admin center over s month ago. The changes are to the suite bar so it’s going to effect classic and modern and there is no way to change it.

The orange is just a different theme most likely under all themes.

Thank you @Chris Webb 

It is custom orange color that aligns with our brand. 

@Mahendran D Hi.  I'm the engineering manager for the common O365 suite header and wanted to try to address your concerns.

I'll start with the good news - the suite header respects tenant-wide theming as set by the tenant administrator.  You can set up your color scheme there and it will be consistent across SharePoint and most other O365 web properties.  Tenant admins also have the option to restrict individual's access to custom themes, which will make the theming panel you see above shrink down quite a bit (we always offer a high-contrast option for users).  You can find the options for both of these things in the O365/M365 Admin Center.