How to Designate a SP Task List Field to Assign a Task

Brass Contributor

Hello All--

I've been an admin for older, on-prem versions of SP for many years but am relatively new to SPO. We're trying to migrate a user group off of a legacy version of SP onto SPO and I'm trying to create a SP Tasks list, and have a question.

I've created a SP Tasks List and added multiple columns to a form for users to complete when adding a new task. Our goal is for SPO to send an email to a particular individual once their name is added to a particular field on the form, but I don't know how to do that.

So, I have a two-part question. a) What is the default action necessary to assign a task from a SP Tasks list to an individual? b) Can I designate when a field (column question) in the task item is completed, it assigns that task to the individual whose name has been added to that field?

I'm not sure I'm being clear, so let me give you an example:

I have a SP Tasks List named 'tasks list'. I added several columns to the list for users to complete when they create a new task in the list. One of the columns/fields the users fill in is called 'scheduler' where they add the name of a fellow employee in our AD named 'bob'. Once the new task is saved, can I have an email notification sent to 'bob' telling them they have a task assigned to them?

Is there an easier way to do this besides setting up a workflow?

Many thanks!

Stephen

9 Replies

@razor7tech 

I didn't think that the Tasks list for SharePoint Online worked any differently than it's server based predecessor.  I'll set something up on my own tenancy tomorrow and will see if I can work out the default trigger.  I always thought it was the provision of a name from the address book but that's nothing more than recall from several years ago.

As for alternatives, you might consider setting up views which are specific to a named individual and then configuring an alert to fire whenever a new item meets that view criteria.