Bulk delete multiple files, but not all in SharePoint

Copper Contributor

Hi all,

I have a SharePoint site with 6000 items in. I have analysed the list of files and identified 4000 that I want to delete. I have a list of the exact filenames to be deleted in Excel. Does anyone know how we could create an automatic way to do this? 

(Note - I am a SharePoint novice)

Thanks, JP

3 Replies

@JP123JP to automate this you will need to build a flow in Power Automate. In this example we have the Excel spreadsheet with the exact name of the file including the extension. You must format it as a table.

0-Excel.png

This is the SharePoint list:

0-SP-List.png

Start Power Automate and create a new instant cloud flow. Every flow must have a trigger - the thing that starts it - and actions. We'll start the flow running manually so select Manually trigger a flow.

The first action will be the Excel for Business List rows present in a table. Click in the location field and select One Drive for Business. Click the the Document library field and select OneDrive. Click the folder icon in the File field and navigate to your spreadsheet and select it. Then in the Table field select the table name from the spreadsheet.

1-Flow.png

By default this action will only list up to 256 rows so to increase this click the 3 dots in the top right of the action and select Settings. Turn the pagination toggle on and in the Threshold field type 5000 then click Done at the bottom of the Settings pane:
1a-Flow-Threshold.png

Next, add an Apply to each action, click in the first field and select value from the list rows present in a table section of the dynamic content box that appears on the right.

2-Flow.png