Microsoft Teams Screen Sharing Freezing

Copper Contributor

I am new to Microsoft Teams and am using it for remote presentations in a university course. Our classes have been suspended because of COVID-19. This was going to be my go to tool for presentations but after this experience I am now hesitant to use it for this application. My first experience with screen sharing has not been great. Students are doing oral presentations and have PPT or video to share with fellow classmates. On all three occasions the screen has frozen up and we could no longer see the presenter. We still had audio but I had to continually reconnect the audio.  The Teams meetings work great for just a general discussion but once you add in or try to use some of the features it appears a bit fragile.  Has anyone else had this experience.

28 Replies

Hi @Caper10 

Can you please try to do the screen sharing from a different device or try a Web Application instead. I am suspecting that some of the application or the Anti-virus is blocking some of the content on the Microsoft Teams Application causing the application to freeze.

You can also try to share the screen from your mobile application and see if that works fine. 

With Regards,

Satish U

I have experienced freezing as well. Usually with my Surface Pro when it gets hot after being on all day. I have not done student presentations yet, other than one-to-one conferences so I can't speak form experience on that. @Caper10 

@Caper10 

I'm still new to Teams and in my meetings I have been sharing an excel file.  If I share and select the document to share after just a couple of clicks the excel file would freeze and I couldn't do anything.

I have tried this instead:

Share the main screen in Teams, open the excel file and drag it over the main screen.  So far this has worked for me.  I no longer try to share the excel file itself.

Hope that helps!
Steve

@Caper10