Control what external guests can do inside our organization

Copper Contributor

Hello,

I want to do some security improvements in our teams organization and I want to control what external guests may or may not do.

I've already made some improves, but I need help in 4 of that.

First I want to add some reliable domains;
Second, if it's possible, I want to block all of external guests to search for people in teams search box and open a message chat with someone from our organization;

Third I want to allow file sharing only from a reliable domain and only in a groups that they are members.

Fourth, I want to prevent file sharing in a internal user <-> external user chat conversation but as a administrator, I could aprove that external user can share files with a specific internal user.

Is that possible?

3 Replies

@Diogo_Jesus 

1. Allow specific domains - Allow or block invites to specific organizations - Azure AD - Microsoft Entra | Microsoft Learn

2. By default Guests can only find members of the teams where they are guests, however you can change this setting - Restrict guest user access permissions - Azure Active Directory - Microsoft Entra | Microsoft Learn

3. I'm not sure I understand this, if you have done 1. then your members will only be from allowed domains.

4. I'm not quite sure I understand the direction you are referring to. Remember Teams does not have any ability to share a file, all it's doing is presenting links to file stored in OneDrive or SharePoint. There is a difference between a guest (from your allow list in 1.) and a chat with an external person. SharePoint and OneDrive sharing permissions are defined as per Manage sharing settings - SharePoint in Microsoft 365 | Microsoft Learn

Hello @Steven Collier, thanks in advance for your help, I olny have time today to check the post.

I already added the specific domains and change guest access permissons, thats work good.