Bitlocker Compliance/Configuration/Endpoint Security Policy Confusion

Brass Contributor

I'm relatively new to endpoint management and AutoPilot is my second foray into it (after MAM/APP).  I'm confused as to the difference between Compliance and Configuration Policies, and Endpoint Security policies adds more confusion.

Here are some of my questions, particularly when the same types of settings are available in different types of policies:

• If I want to enforce a settings (configure the setting and either prevent changes or ensure the configuration is reverted to the desired configuration), do I use Configuration Policies?
  • When would I use Compliance Policy vs Configuration Policy?
  • When would I use Endpoint Security Policy
  • Specific to Bitlocker, which of the three is the best place to configure Bitlocker (to automatically enable and enforce the configuration).
  • Whats the best way to handle computers that might not have TPM chips, but we'd like to have a default Bitlocker policy?  Would I have to explicitly exclude a group of computers that do not have TPM from the policy where Bitlocker is enforced?
  • For AutoPilot, which type of policy is best to enable Bitlocker at OOBE?
  • In a scenario where Bitlocker (and the TPM requirement) are required by a policy, but a target machine does not have a TPM chip, what should I expect in terms of full functionality when accessing company resource?

Thanks in advance for helping me learn!

6 Replies
Hi Bryan,

I will try to answer all the questions, pretty sure that my colleagues will have more to add.

Compliance Policy: It’s the policies that will decide your devices Compliant with EndPoint or NOT. If the device is not Compliant, Config Policies and others will not get applied.

Config Policies, Policies that you can make changes to your devices similar to any other vendor MDM policies.