How to reveal anonymous submissions in Microsoft Forms

Copper Contributor

Hi all, 

I'm relatively new to using Microsoft Forms, and I did not know that the default setting for MS Forms submissions was to show user feedback as "anonymous." My form is a simple yes or no one question form, and I would like to know who responded. I've seen that the solution is to only allow responses within your organization. But is there any way to view who the anonymous user was after the fact so I don't have to ask people to resubmit their responses?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank You

9 Replies

@Gary Walker  if the form is set to anonymous there is no way to find out who submitted. If there was it would be a compliance nightmare and, in the EU at least, could lead to legal action if it was a public form and someone was contacted who thought the form they had submitted was anonymous.

Rob
Los Gallardos
Microsoft Power Automate Community Super User

Hello,
I have the same problem and the link was responded by a group of students that i’m the owner for, and they already have Microsoft accounts, could it be to know the names of the responses?

Thank you

@saba228 as I explained in my previous response, it is not possible to get the names of who has submitted a response on an anonymous form. Anonymous means anonymous and that's how it should be.

Rob
Los Gallardos

Actually, it can be possible if the admin have enabled the audit log. If they query the logs for CreateResponse events they can find something like below.

It shows when the user voted (with second precision in UTC) and the ResponseId. When you check the result excel file, you can find the IDs in first column and the answer time in secod and third column. By cross-corelating them you can find which vote was whose

RunspaceId : eed91bd7-f7b9-466f-8294-16ad2b347806

RecordType : MicrosoftForms

CreationDate : 2020-11-24 13:54:42

UserIds : ***

Operations : CreateResponse