SOLVED

VBA Error (but only on one sheet): Object variable or With block variable not set

Copper Contributor

I'm using Excel in Microsoft Office 365 on Windows 10. I've been using a macro to sort two tabs on my spreadsheet, which are identical in format, and after months of working perfectly, now the macro is not working in Tab A of the spreadsheet even though it works fine in Tab B. Whenever I try to run it, I receive the following error: "Run-time error '91': Object variable or With block variable not set"

I tried the "Debug" feature and it highlighted the first line of my code:

ActiveWorkbook.ActiveSheet.AutoFilter.Sort.SortFields.Clear

Oddly, as I was trying to fix this, even when I deleted this section of the macro, it just kept highlighting the first line of my code, no matter what that first line was. I'm a total newbie when it comes to debugging, though, so maybe there's something else I need to do to find the correct string of code that's causing the issue?

In any event, I have no idea what the problem is because this macro is working perfectly in Tab B. I have not made any changes to Tab A apart from the usual data entry - the format is still the same, no added or removed columns, etc.

I've pasted the full code below.

Sub WritingProjectSort()
'
' WritingProjectSort Macro
'
' Keyboard Shortcut: Ctrl+Shift+M
'
    ActiveSheet.AutoFilter.Sort.SortFields.Clear
    ActiveSheet.AutoFilter.Sort.SortFields.Add2 Key _
        :=Range("AA1:AA252"), SortOn:=xlSortOnValues, Order:=xlAscending, _
        DataOption:=xlSortNormal
    With ActiveSheet.AutoFilter.Sort
        .Header = xlYes
        .MatchCase = False
        .Orientation = xlTopToBottom
        .SortMethod = xlPinYin
        .Apply
    End With
        :=Range("R1:R252"), SortOn:=xlSortOnValues, Order:=xlAscending, _
        .Header = xlYes
        .MatchCase = False
        .SortMethod = xlPinYin
        .Apply
    End With