SOLVED

Recovering Deleted Files

Copper Contributor

Aloha,

As a teacher, I have a large Excel 2016 workbook containing information on about 250 students. The first sheet, called Student Information, contains all their demographic data, such as name, ID number, birthday, address, parent names, etc. I also have some sheets that contain related information, such as faculty phone numbers, etc. Then I have an individual tab for each student, where I keep their attendance, grades, etc. I have designed the individual sheets so that I just type in the student's name at the top and then all their demographic data is imported from the Student Information sheet via the VLOOKUP command.

While working on one of the individual student tabs, my screen suddenly flashed and dumped me into the Faculty sheet. That's when I noticed that the Student Information tab was missing. Apparently the whole sheet was deleted somehow when the screen flashed. "Undo" does not work for deleted sheets (although I think it should). I had "Auto Save" turned on, so I could not click "Save As" and then reopen the original workbook in order to retrieve the deleted sheet. So I tried File --> Restore, but I am unable to open any of the previous versions of the workbook. When I click on a previous version, I get a message stating that the workbook is unable to be opened and asking if it could have been moved or deleted? But it does not offer me any options.

I have a backup version of the workbook, so I opened it and copied the Student Information sheet into the original workbook. But now none of the references work and I'm getting #REF errors everywhere even though the copied/inserted sheet is identical to the deleted one and has an identical name. I'm guessing there is a hidden address reference that I don't know how to access. Any ideas?

Thank you!

13 Replies
best response confirmed by Laurel Galway (Copper Contributor)
Solution

Hi Laurel,